Being Healthy Halo-style

I’ve been watching a lot of The Biggest Loser lately, courtesy of Hulu Plus. It has always been my personal goal to carry myself as a gamer and someone who knows when to put the controller down to stay in shape. That’s one reason why I have been playing Halo less lately. Another reason is that I haven’t had much of an urge to play Spartan Ops solo on Legendary. Matchmaking solo is also not as fun because of the lack of communication that often occurs amongst randoms (Mission 6 Episode 3 and not being able to call the airstrike sound familiar?).

Anyway, I’m trying to think of creative ways to incorporate some sort of physical activity while playing Halo and I’ve come up with a couple of things:

1.) Play an entire mission of Spartan Ops in a squat position (or assisted squat by pressing your back against a wall or other surface). Of course, finishing the full range of motion for a squat works as well.

2.) Do 10 jumping jacks/push-ups/crunches/whatever for every death you get in Spartan Ops Matchmaking. (Better than drinking shots, IMO)

This season of The Biggest Loser tackles childhood obesity, which is something many gamers can relate. While it is easy for parents and politics to blame video games and other media for this epidemic, what it really comes down to is adults educating children and motivating them to live an active lifestyle. I am tired of the social stigmas often associated with gaming and being a gamer. Hopefully you are too and will find your own ways to make a difference.

2 thoughts on “Being Healthy Halo-style

  1. This is almost the exact situation I find myself in! With summer approaching, I find myself placing more priority on my other hobby – mountain biking. That means going to bed early, getting up early, and working our rather than gaming like I have the last 3 months!

    I have started standing while playing. As a trucker, I sit lots already, and it’s good for my hips to stand more than I normally do.

    • That’s awesome! I broke my arm snowboarding near Lake Tahoe and I’ve fallen off my bike a few times so…mountain biking probably won’t be my thing anytime soon. I work at a desk so I understand what it means to sit for hours on end.

Leave a Reply

